I don’t know how to act on funerals.

I don’t know how to act on funerals.

I somehow find myself detached during these awkward situations. I don’t know how to say my condolences, I don’t know if asking for a second cup of coffee during the wake is acceptable, I don’t know if smiling is considered a grave offense… You see what I did there? A freaking pun. Yes, I’m that guy. But I think this all started back when I was about 4 years old and I had a twin sister. HAD. We lost her when we were in that age but at the time I wasn’t even aware about the concept of death and grieving and all that. Everything was some sort of a blur. One thing I remember though, was that I wasn’t allowed to attend the funeral because of some old Filipino superstition that if I go with them, then death would come for me next, or at least something dark and scary story to that effect. It was tragic and sad, and subconsciously that might have affected me a whole lot, but up to this day I still can’t find an explanation as to why.

3 thoughts on “I don’t know how to act on funerals.

Leave a comment